Unexpectedly I have put myself in a serious grave situation. My friend Andy and I bond over our shared passion for food. Normally we are collaborators in ideas & cooking techniques. However when I told him of my successful first batch of mince pies I made for a christmas house party over the weekend, He declared that he could make better mince pies than that. The oven glove has been thrown down and we are going to enter into a mince pie bake off.

Andy vs. Me!!

We are going to have a judging panel of 6. 3 positions have been filled.
These are the rules:
We will bake it in one venue with an adjudicator so no cheating or attempts to foil the opposition.
Judges are strictly not allowed to have any involvement in the research & development process. (This is going to be hard on or judges since they live with Andy & the other is my beloved)
This is a blind tasting.
Judges will also mark based on 3 categories – pastry, mince meat and presentation.
Highest overall score wins.

So Andy, better buy yourself an apron with the words “Novice”on it & watch the mistress of mince pies work her magic.