It has been a while since I’ve updated you kind reader with what has been happening.

I’ve taken a holiday from triathlon and blogging. But the food tasting, cooking & more culinary indulgences continued throughout the over-extended holiday period.

Obviously Christmas day is a feast in itself for most people. I’m not sure if I mentioned that when it comes to celebrations, my disjointed family don’t skimp. Therefore Christmas eve and boxing day were dedicated to Christmas feasts with different family members. Least I forget to mention the three birthday cakes I’ve had slices of between 26th and 29th december. That also includes 2 birthday dinners.

Needles to say this amount if feasting should be enough for the equivalent for 5 years. But shortly after Christmas and New Years is always Chinese New Year.

Being one of the most important festivals in my life, I made special effort this year for my surrogate London family. All traditions were enforced in this new context. The spring clean on new years eve, the red envelopes, good will posters and a feast to bring family together.

The feast itself consisted of 9 “dishes” and 9 of my closest friends came. it certainly packed out my living room. Chinese steam boat/ hot pot sat in the middle of the dining table, steamed whole sea bass, peking roast duck, crispy pork belly, spring rolls, buddha’s delight becomes my hungry friends with servings of rice, stir fry noodles and all sorts of greens.

The rest of that weekend followed a similar pattern like Christmas with family and a different menu of chinese food. Need I say more than the picture of the roasted suckling pig? (Incase you asked, yes it was decadently good)

image

So much indulgences, I had to take a break from that to reset my system. Only a spa break with dearly beloved for Valentines weekend can do that job. Because it was my treat, he was the poster boy for pampered & spoilt boyfriend.

The holiday season is now truly over. Chinese new year is the landmark start to the new spring. This spring is about allowing my triathlon skills to grow, for my culinary skills to blossom and with fingers crossed flowering in the summer of racing.